Reiseführer für Chiang Mai
Thai Wörter erklärt
Junge Mädchen

Reiseführer für Chiang Mai Thailand

Classic Home Cooking
Ausflüge & Trekking

Sonnenschirme und Sa Papier in Chiang Mai

Sa Papier in Chiang Mai, ThailandSonnenschirme und Sa Papier wurden traditionsgemäß in der Gegend um Ban Bo Sang produziert. Die Tourismusindustrie ließ das früher eher kleine Handwerk gedeihen. Die Rahmen für die Sonnenschirme werden in einzelnen Schritten hergestellt, und man kann häufig Männer oder Frauen unter den Häuser an einer Reihe Sonnenschirme an einem Schritt des Produktionsprozesses arbeiten sehen. Verschiedene Haushalte haben sich auf einen Schritt der Sonnenschirmherstellung spezialisiert.

Sa Papierproduktion hat eine ähnliche Verwandlung durch den Anstieg der einheimischen und der touristischen Nachfrage für dekoratives Papier erfahren. Sa Papier wird produziert, indem man die holzigen Stämme der Sa Pflanze (eine Art Maulbeere) trocknet. Dann werden sie eingeweicht und in einer Mühle zu einem Brei gemahlen. Dann wird Farbe hinzugefügt und die Mischung in Wannen mit Wasser aufgelöst. Dann wird ein feinmaschiges Sieb durch die Flüssigkeit gezogen an dem eine dünne Schicht aus festen Bestandteilen hängen bleibt. Beim Trocknen werden daraus Papierbögen. Diese verkauft man dann oder fertigt Andenken wie Karten und Notizbücher daraus.

Wo kann man Sonnenschirm und Sa Papier Herstellung sehen   Wo kann man Sa Papier Produkte kaufen

Geschichte der Sonnenschirm Herstellung

Luang Por Inthaa - der geschätzte Älteste der die Legende vom Sonnenschirm Dorf Bo Sang begründete

Kompiliert von - Por Noi Srinuan Taa-Saeng, ein ehemaliger Mönch

Das Herstellen von Sonnenschirmen in Bo Sang ist ein Kunsthandwerksberuf der Dorfbewohner, der den Namen des Dorfes in der ganzen Welt bekannt gemacht hat, so dass der Sonnenschirm eines der Symbole Chiang Mais gewordene ist. Wie ist das passiert? Wer führte diese Kunstform und wie lange ist es her?

Fächer in Chiang Mai, Thailand Vor etwa hundert Jahren gab es einen Mönch namens Phra Inthaa (sein Status wurde nicht angegeben), der die heiligen Bestellungen im Wat Bo Sang annahm. Der Mönch praktiziert regelmäßig Dhamma (aber war wegen seiner Pilgerfahrten nie in dem Tempel). Es war seine Art, dass er gerne die lokalen Bräuche in den Gebieten die er bereiste, die noch kein anderer vorher gesehen hatte zu beobachten und zu untersuchen. In einem Fall ging der Mönch nach Norden in die Nähe der Myanmar Grenze und blieb dort für viele Jahre. Die Leute die zu ihm kamen um Verdienste zu erwerben und Almosen für die Mönche zu spenden waren wohl auch Thai und Burmesisch.

Eines Tages, während der Mönch seine Morgen Mahlzeit einnahm, kam ein Birmese um Verdienste zu erwerben und hat dem Mönch einen Schirm angeboten, weil er gesehen hatte, dass der Mönch keinen hatte.

Nachdem der Mönch den Birmesen gesegnet hatte fragte er ihn, ob er den Schirm selbst gemacht habe. Der Birmese antwortete, dass er den ihn extra für den Mönch angefertigt habe. Der Mönch fragte dann de Birmesen wo er wohne. Er sagte, er lebe nicht weit von wo der Mönch wohnte. Man käme es innerhalb eines Tages zu Fuß dahin.

Nachdem der Birmese gegangen war öffnete der Mönch den Schirm um zu sehen wie er gemacht wurde, ob er leicht zu Handhaben war und ob er ihn vor Sonne und Regen schützen könnte. Der Mönch beschloss sofort, dass er nach Myanmar Reisen würde um zu sehen wie der Schirm gefertigt wurde.

Als er zu dem Ort in Myanmar kam wo die Schirme gemacht wurden sah der Mönch die Dorfbewohner Schirme machen die den Benutzer vor Sonne und Regen schützen konnten. Außerdem machten die Dorfbewohner große Schirme die sie als "zeremonielle Schirme" bezeichneten, weil sie für verschiedenen Feste und Feiern und für religiöse Zeremonien benutzt wurden. Diese Schirme wurden komplett aus Sa (Maulbeer Rinde) Papier gemacht, das mit Gummi verklebt und um Sonne und Regen abzuweisen in Öl getränkt wurde.

Der Mönch fragte die Dorfbewohner was für Ausrüstung erforderlich war um die Schirme herzustellen. Die Dorfbewohner erklärten ihm dann die Herstellungsmethode der Schirme von Anfang bis Ende, wie man Sa Papier macht mit eingeschlossen.

Nachdem der Mönch seine Beobachtungen gemacht hatte notierte er alles, von der Sa Papier Herstellung bis zu den verschiedenen Schritten bei der Schirmherstellung. Als er fertig war, hatte er im Sinn nach Hause zu gehen und selber Schirme herzustellen da er sah, dass die Ausrüstung, die für den Prozess vom Anfang zum Ende benötigt wurde, nicht schwierig zu beschaffen sein würde.

Danach kehrte der Mönch nach Hause zurück. Als er zum Wat (Tempel) zurück kam, fing der Mönch an nach der notwendigen Ausrüstung zu suchen. Er überzeugte die Dorfbewohner ihm bei seiner Suche zu helfen und brachte ihnen die einzelnen Schritte der Methode bei. Er beauftragte einen Mann Maulbeerebarke zu kochen bis sie weich war und die weichen Anteile dann fein zu zerstoßen. Er wies dann den Mann an ein paar Stücke Baumwollstoff als Form zu verwenden. Dann wurde ein Teak-holzbassin mit Wasser befüllt und dann wurden die Tücher in das Bassin gelegt.

Sie füllten dann die fein zerstoßene Maulbeerbarke in das Bassin und rührten die Lösung so dass sich die Fragmente der Maulbeerbarke gleichmäßig über das Tuch verteilten, nahmen dann das Tuch heraus und trockneten es in der Sonne. Nach dem Trocknen konnte das Sa Papier abgezogen werden.

Der Mönch beschloss Frauen für dieses Teil des Prozesses verantwortlich zu machen, weil Frauen ausdauernder als Männer sind. Bei den Birmesen machten diese Arbeit auch Frauen. Der Mönch lehrte die Männer Rahmen aus Bambus zu fertigen. Das Holz an der Oberseite und an der Unterseite des Schirmes war Kiefer und der Handgriff wurde aus einem dünnen Bambus Mai Ruak hergestellt und Harz vom Persimonebaum wurde als Kleber benutzt. Schließlich wurde eine andere Art Harz auf dem Papier als Schutz gegen Sonnenschein und Regen aufgetragen.

Es gab nicht all zuviele Dorfbewohner die interessiert waren dem Mönch zu helfen. Als das Endprodukt schließlich fertig war nutzten einige der Dorfbewohner sie um auf Reisen sich vor Sonne oder Regen zu schützen. Als Leute aus anderen Dörfern zu Besuch kamen und die Schirme sahen, wurde Bo Sang ein wenig mehr bekannt.

Schließlich fingen Leute an Aufträge für Schirme zu vergeben und es wurde zu einer Einkommensquelle. Immer mehr Dorfbewohner interessierten sich für die Herstellung von Schirmen und die Herstellungsprozesse veränderten sich mit der Zeit. Sie begannen immer mehr Schirme herzustellen die Arbeit war eine rentable Liebhaberei als Ergänzung zur Reislandwirtschaft. Sobald die Ernte abgeschlossen war fingen die Dorfbewohner an Schirme herzustellen. Wenn sie fertig waren brachten sie ein paar, möglicherweise 20 oder 30, zur Stadt um sie zu verkaufen.

Später produzierten einige Leute im Sanpatong Bezirk, in einem Dorf das Mae Wang genannt wird, ähnliche Schirme wie die aus Bo Sang. Die Schirme waren aus Seide oder Baumwolle. Es ist nicht bekannt wo sie die Fertigkeiten zur Herstellung der Schirme erlernten.

Die fertigen Sa Papier- und Stoffschirme wurden in die Stadt gebracht um sie dort zu verkaufen. Das Bo Sang Dorf beobachtete die anderen Designs und entwickelte selber eine Herstellungsweise für Stoffschirme. Statt des Baumharzes nahmen sie später Mameu Öl, das weicher und stärker war. Sie mischten das Öl auch mit Haang (das ist ein Staubfarbiges Pigment und wird zurzeit nur in Birma hergestellt und ist sehr teuer)

In 1941 bildeten die Dorfbewohner eine Kooperative die "Bo Sang Umbrella Making Cooperative Ltd". Sie produzierten Sonnenschirme in vielen verschiedenen Größen, wie 14 Zoll, 16 Zoll, 18 Zoll und 20 Zoll Schirme sowie die Großen 35 und 40 Zoll Stoff- und Papierschirme.

Die Schirme wurden mit Ölfarben bemalt, die mit Mameu Öl verschiedenen Farben wie Rot, Gelb, Blau und Grün gemischt wurden. (Sie fingen dann auch an die Ölfarben zu importieren)

Wo kann man Sonnenschirm und Sa Papier Herstellung sehen:

Die Dörfer um Bo Sang sind das Zuhause der traditionellen Sa Papierherstellung und der Sonnenschirmherstellung.

Umbrella Making Center
111/2 Bo Sang, Chiang Mai 50131.
Hrs. 08:00-17:00
Sa paper and umbrella making.
Tel: 053338324 Fax: 053338928

Preservation House
29/3 Ban Ton Pao, Chiang Mai 50130.
Hrs. 08:00-17:00.
Sa paper production & shop with lots of paper products.
Tel: 053339196

Wo kann man Sa Papier Produkte kaufen:

Umbrella Village
Bo Sarng. San Kamphaeng Road, Km. 9.5
Tel. 053331324

Jantana Sa Paper
2nd Fl. Room #79, Chiang Mai Night Bazaar, Chang Klan Road
Tel. 053235575, 053232797, 053234235-6

G.T. Sa Paper Tree Ltd. Part
230/9 Bo Sarng Bazaar Center, Moo 3, T. Ton Pao, A. San Kamphaeng.
Tel. 053338851 Fax. 053338877

P.K. Collection
No. A11-13 Galare Food & Shopping Center
Mobile:(01) 9806945 Fax. 053818044.

Ton Sa
11 9/8 Moo 1, T. Ton Pao, A. San Kamphaeng
Tel. 053386389 Fax. 053386389

U.M. Thai International Trading Co., Ltd.
Showroom: 230/6-7 Bo Sarng Bazaar, A. San Kamphaeng
Tel/Fax. 053387243, 053338529

Sehen Sie auch:

Kunsthandwerk in Chiang Mai
Antiken u. asiatische Kunst
Bekleidung
Korbflechterei
Keramik
Edelsteine, Schmucksachen, Gold, Silber
Tonwaren u. Terra-Cotta
Holzschnitzereien
Bergvolk Kunsthandwerk
Innendekoration
Schneidereien
Einkaufen
Handgewebte Stoffe
Lackwaren
Tafelsilber
Thai Seide u. Baumwolle
Spielwaren u. Puppen
Sonnenschirme und Sa Papier



Reiseführer für Chiang Mai

Window to Chiang Mai
Explanation of Thai words
Boy Girl

Window to Chiang Mai Thailand

Classic Home Cooking
Tours & Trekking

Umbrellas and Sa Paper in Chiang Mai

Sa Paper, Chiang Mai, ThailandThese have traditionally been produced in the area around Ban Bo Sang. The tourism industry has made the once small craft thrive. Frames for umbrellas are produced in stages, and it is common to see men or women underneath houses working on a batch of umbrellas at one stage of the production process. Different households may specialize in one stage of making the umbrellas.

Sa paper production has been through a similar transformation driven by increasing local and tourist demand for decorative paper. The paper is produced by drying the woody stems of the Sa plant (a kind of mulberry). Then they are soaked and pulverized into a mush in a mill. Color is added and the mix is placed in tubs where it is suspended in water. By drawing a fine mesh grill through the tub, sediment accumulates on the grill in thin sheets. In drying the sediment coagulates to form the sheets of paper. These are then sold, or fashioned into souvenirs such as cards and notebooks.

[ Where to see umbrella and Sa paper making   Where to buy Sa paper products ]

History of Umbrella Making

Luang Por Inthaa - The Esteemed Elder who established the Legend of the Umbrella Making Village of Bo Sang

Compiled by - Por Noi Srinuan Taa-Saeng, a former monk

The making of umbrellas in Bo Sang village is a handicraft occupation of the villagers which has made its name known throughout the country and abroad until the parasol has become one of the symbols of Chiang Mai. How did this come about? Who introduced this art form and how many years ago? The author has based this narration on the words of the village elders as follows:

Fan, Chiang Mai, ThailandApproximately one hundred years ago there was a monk named Phra lnthaa (his ranking status was not stated) who had taken holy orders at Wat Bo Sang. The monk practiced Dhamma regularly (but had never been with the temple due to his pilgrimage travel). It was his nature that he liked to observe and investigate the local customs which he found in the area which others had not seen or encountered at that time. On one occasion the monk went north " close to Myanmar, and stayed for many years. Being close to the Burmese border, the people who came to make merit and give alms to the monks were probably both Thai and Burmese.

One day, while the monk was taking his morning meal, a Burmese, inclined to make merit, brought an umbrella to offer to the monk because he had seen that the monk did not have one, which caused difficulties.

After the monk had blessed the Burmese who had brought the umbrella, he asked him if he had made the umbrella himself. The Burmese answered that indeed the umbrella was his own handiwork which he had made to offer to the monk. The monk then asked where the Burmese lived. He said that he lived not far from where the monk was staying. One could get there within one day's walk.

After the Burmese had returned home, the monk opened the umbrella in order to see how it was made, whether it was convenient to use, and whether it would protect him from both sunshine and rain. The monk decided immediately that he would travel to Myanmar, intending to investigate how the umbrella was made.

When he went to the place in Myanmar where umbrellas were made the monk saw the villagers making umbrellas which could protect the user from both sunshine and rain. Additionally he saw the villagers making large umbrellas, which they called 'ceremonial umbrellas', as they were used in various feasts and ceremonies and for religious ceremonies as well. This umbrella was made entirely of Sa (mulberry bark) paper, attached with rubber and suffused or coated with oil to help repel both sunshine and rain.

The monk was able to consider and asked the villagers what equipment was necessary in making the umbrellas. The villagers then explained the method of making umbrellas from beginning to end, including how to make Sa paper.

After the monk had made his observations, he wrote down everything concerning the method of making umbrellas, from the method of making Sa paper to the various steps in umbrella making. When he was finished he had it in mind to take the instructions and make umbrellas at home, as he saw that the various equipment needed for the process from the beginning to the end would not be difficult to obtain.

After that, the monk returned home. When he returned to the Wat (temple), the monk began looking for the various necessary equipment according to what he had written down. He persuaded the villagers to help him in his search and taught them every step of the method. He ordered a man to boil mulberry bark until it was soft, wash it, and then choose that which was soft and pound it until it was fine. He then instructed the man to use lengths of cotton cloth as a mold. Water to a certain level was put in a teak basin and then the cloths were placed in the basin.

They then took the finely pounded mulberry bark and put it in the water for the solution would adhere to the cloth mold. They stirred it so the fragments of the mulberry bark fell evenly over the cloth and then removed the cloth and dried it in the sun. When it was dry it could be made into Sa paper.

The monk chose women to be responsible for this part of the process because women are more perseverant than men. The Burmese relegated women to perform this step of the process, also. For making umbrellas the monk taught the men to make frames out of bamboo (in Central Thai this is known as Mai Pai but in Northern Thai it is called Mai Bong).The wood at the top and bottom of the umbrella was pine and the handle was made of a thin bamboo called Mai Ruak, and resin from the persimmon tree was used as an adhesive. Finally another kind of resin was used on the paper as protection against both sunshine and rain.

Concerning umbrella making, there were not many of the villagers who were interested in practicing and in helping the monk. When the final product was eventually available, some of the villagers made use of them when traveling to protect themselves from the sun or rain. When people from other villages came and saw the umbrellas, Bo Sang became known somewhat more.

Finally people began to place orders to buy umbrellas and it became a source of income. From that time until the present more of the villagers became interested in umbrella making. But we humans must agree that there is gradual evolution and so the process was modified as time passed. Bo Sang villagers began to make more umbrellas, the work was a profitable hobby as a supplement to rice farming. Once the harvest was completed the villagers began making umbrellas throughout the village. When the umbrellas were finished, villagers took just a few, maybe 20 or 30 umbrellas, to Chiang Mai to sell.

Later some people in Sanpatong District, in a village called Mae Wang, produced umbrellas similar to the people of Bo Sang. It is not known where they learned the craft of making umbrellas from silk or cotton.

When the cloth and Sa paper umbrellas were finished they were brought into town to sell. The Bo Sang village keenly observed the other designs and skillfully thought up a way to make cloth umbrellas as well. They developed this gradually and changed from using tree resin to using Mameu oil which was softer and stronger. They also used the oil mixed with Haang to good effect. (This Haang is a dust-colored pigment and at present is only sold in Myanmar at a very expensive cost.)

After the villagers learned the method of making cloth umbrellas, things develop the point that in 1941 the villagers got together and formed a cooperative within the village. The villagers called this cooperative "Bo Sang Umbrella Making Cooperative Ltd". At that time, the organizer was Mr. Jamroon Suthiwiwat, the head of cooperatives in the province. The villagers produced umbrellas of many different sizes, such as 14 inch, 16 inch, 18 inch, and 20 inch umbrellas as well as large ones of 35 and 40 inches, both cloth and paper umbrellas.

The umbrellas were painted with oil paints mixed with Mameu oil of many different colors, such as red, yellow, blue and green. (A that time these oil paints had begun to be imported.)

The have succeeded progressively to the point that in approximately 1957, the "Center for Industrial Promotion" for the North assisted the villagers by teaching them to make Sa paper and to print cloth in a fine plaid such as we can see up to the present.

Umbrella making developed prosperously to the point that they began to be painted with flowers and landscape view scenes of various kinds. This prosperity is the result of the assistance given and the fact that these umbrella products can be exported and sell well abroad.

The villagers have also been invited to give demonstrations of umbrella making that the citizens of other countries can see this craft at various fairs and shows to the extent that Bo Sang umbrellas have been transformed into one of the symbols of Chiang Mai.

The villagers of Bo Sang should remember the monk's benevolence that he brought this art form to become a vital occupation up to the present. It is all a result of the foresight and wisdom of Luang Por Inthaa which cannot be forgotten.

Where to see umbrella and Sa paper making:

The villages around Bo Sang village are the home of both traditional Sa paper making and umbrella making.

Umbrella Making Center
111/2 Bo Sang, Chiang Mai 50131.
Hrs. 08:00-17:00
Sa paper and umbrella making.
Tel: 053338324 Fax: 053338928

Preservation House
29/3 Ban Ton Pao, Chiang Mai 50130.
Hrs. 08:00-17:00.
Sa paper production & shop with lots of paper products.
Tel: 053339196

Where to buy Sa paper products:

Umbrella Village
Bo Sarng. San Kamphaeng Road, Km. 9.5
Tel. 053331324

Jantana Sa Paper
2nd Fl. Room #79, Chiang Mai Night Bazaar, Chang Klan Road
Tel. 053235575, 053232797, 053234235-6

G.T. Sa Paper Tree Ltd. Part
230/9 Bo Sarng Bazaar Center, Moo 3, T. Ton Pao, A. San Kamphaeng.
Tel. 053338851 Fax. 053338877

P.K. Collection
No. A11-13 Galare Food & Shopping Center
Mobile:(01) 9806945 Fax. 053818044.

Ton Sa
11 9/8 Moo 1, T. Ton Pao, A. San Kamphaeng
Tel. 053386389 Fax. 053386389

U.M. Thai International Trading Co., Ltd.
Showroom: 230/6-7 Bo Sarng Bazaar, A. San Kamphaeng
Tel/Fax. 053387243, 053338529

All Handicrafts of Chiang Mai

Handicrafts
Antiques
Apparel & Garments
Basketry
Ceramics
Gems,Jewelry,Gold,Silver
Umbrellas and Sa Paper
Pottery & Terra-cotta
Interior Decoration
Tailoring
Toys & Dolls
Misc. Shopping
Hand-woven Fabrics
Lacquer-ware
Silverware
Thai-silk & Cotton
Woodcarving
Hilltribe Artifacts



Window to Chiang Mai