Reiseführer für Chiang Mai
Thai Wörter erklärt
Junge Mädchen

Reiseführer für Chiang Mai Thailand

Classic Home Cooking
Ausflüge & Trekking

Die Phra Sihing Buddha Statue

Die Phra Sihing oder Phra Singh Buddha Statue gilt als besonders elegant. Sie gehört zu einer seltenen Reihe von "Löwenstil" Kunstwerken. Die Merkmale dieses Kunststils sollen denen einer verloren gegangenen "Löwe von Sakyas" Statue ähnlich sein, die aus der Pala Schule in Bodhgaya, Indien stammt.

Viharn Lai Kham, Wat Phra Singh Tempel, Chiang Mai, ThailandDie eindeutigen Merkmale des "Löwenstils" umfassen die geringfügige Prallheit in der Form sowie die Lotosknospenform der Flamme über dem Schädel und das kurze Stück Stoff über der linken Schulter, das bis zum Nippel herunter geht.

Es ist jedoch ungewiss wie die Statue nach Lanna kam. Eine Kopie der Pala Schule Statue wurde wahrscheinlich 1455 zusammen mit den Plänen des Mahabodhi Tempels, der die Basis für Wat Jet Yod bildete, nach Chiang Mai geholt. Die Lanna Bildhauer, die von der Sukhothai Schule waren, haben dann Kopien aus Bronze erstellt. So kombinieren die "Löwenstil" Statuen von Lanna die flüssige Anmut und Haltung der Sukhothai Schule mit Eigenschaften der Pala Schule von Indien.

Eine andere Theorie schlägt vor, dass die ursprüngliche Phra Sihing Statue aus Sri Lanka über Nakhorn Sri Thammarat nach Chiang Mai kam, wo eine ähnliche "Löwenstil" Statue aufbewahrt wird. In 1661 brachte König Narai die Phra Sihing Statue nach Ayutthaya, aber Lanna Soldaten holten sie 1767 zurück. Es gibt noch eine alte "Löwenstil" Statue im Nationalmuseum in Bangkok. Eine Sache ist sicher, und das ist die Statue im Viharn Lai Kham ist eine Replika, denn das Original ist im Nationalmuseum von Chiang Mai.

Lanna Statuen wurden jedoch nicht nur im "Löwenstil" gefertigt. König Tilokarat bestellte auch Statuen im Stil anderer Schulen wie den von Sukhothai und von U Thong. Diese Mischstil Statuen wurden im ganzen Lanna produziert.





Reiseführer für Chiang Mai

Window to Chiang Mai
Explanation of Thai words
Boy Girl

Window to Chiang Mai Thailand

Classic Home Cooking
Tours & Trekking

The Phra Sihing Buddha Image

The Phra Sihing or Phra Singh Buddha image is considered especially elegant. It is one of a rare series of "lion" style images. The features of this style are said to be similar to those of a lost "Lion of Sakyas" image, which come from the Pala school in Bodhgaya, India.

Viharn Lai Kham, Wat Phra Singh in Chiang MaiThe distinct features of the "lion" style include the slight plumpness at the form as well as the lotus bud shape of the flame above the skull, and the short flap of cloth over the left shoulder that descends as far as the nipple.

However there is uncertainty as to how the image came to Lanna. A copy of the Pala school image in high relief may have been brought back to Chiang Mai in 1455, along with the plans of the Mahabodhi temple, which formed the basis for Wat Jet Yod. The Lanna sculptors who were of the Sukhothai school would then have made copies as bronze images in the round. Thus the "lion" style images of Lanna combine the flowing grace and posture of the Sukhothai school with features of the Pala school of India.

Another theory suggests that the original Phra Sihing image came from Sri Lanka via Nakhorn Sri Thammarat, where a similar "lion" style image is kept. In 1661 King Narai had the Phra Sihing taken to Ayutthaya, but Lanna soldiers fighting with the Burmese are said to have recovered it at the sack of Ayutthaya in 1767. The existence of yet another old "lion" style image at the National Museum in Bangkok suggests Lanna craftsmen made several copies. One thing is certain, at least, and that is the image in the Viharn Lai Kham is a replica, for the "original" is located in the Chiang Mai National Museum.

Lanna images were not only of the lion style, however. King Tilokarat also ordered images made reproducing other schools such as that of Sukhothai and U-Thong. These mixed style images were produced throughout Lanna.




Window to Chiang Mai